Introduction | Range and introduction | Description | Mimicry | Feeding
Keeping | Breeding | Conclusion
 

Range and introduction to the species:

1. The range of Dasypeltis scabra (Linnaeus, 1758) includes the whole of Africa and a small part of the southern Arabian Peninsula (Yemen). Exceptions are the three great deserts; the Sahara in the north, the Kalahari in the south, and the Namib in the southwest, as well as montane regions at altitudes above 1500-2000 m. Thus, Dasypeltis scabra lives in regions where most of the other species also occur (sympatric). She's now extinct from West-Africa! (Updated 2014)
     
click the thumbnail
       
2.   Dasypeltis atra (Sternfeld, 1912) is a montane species that occurs not only in the mountains of Ethiopia, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi, but also in the lowland regions where it has an entirely different coloration. The montane form is mostly black, whereas lowland specimens may also be uniformly red or olive and exhibit a pattern.
       
3.   The ranges of Dasypeltis m. medici (Bianconi, 1859) and D. m. lamuensis overlap in the north of the D. m. medici range. It extends from the south of Kenya through Tanzania into the north of South Africa.
     
4.   Dasypeltis m. lamuensis (Gans, 1957) occurs in Kenya and Tanzania. There are uniform gray and reddish specimens.
click the thumbnail
       
5.   Dasypeltis inornata (Smith, 1849) only occurs in South Africa (endemic species), and may be reddish brown or dark brown.  
       
6.   Dasypeltis palmarum (Leach, 1818) lives in the southwest of the African continent. Its range extends from the north of Angola to Gabon.  
       
7.   Dasypeltis fasciata (Smith, 1849) has the second widest distribution range of all egg eaters. It includes the whole of Central Africa and stretches from Ghana to Gabon in the western half and into the west of Uganda in the eastern half.  
       
8.   Dasypeltis abyssina (Duméril, Bibron & Duméril, 1854) lives in Ethiopia.  
       
9.   Dasypeltis confusa (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) is known from Senegal (Casamace) to Congo and Angola. She lives in wooded savannah and dry forest. D. confusa is reaching the rainforest in Central Africa (northern Congo).  
       
10.   Dasypeltis sahelensis (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) occurs in Morocco and the Sahelzone from Senegal, Gambia, Burkina Faso, the southern parts of Mali and Niger.  
       
11.   Dasypeltis gansi (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) is only known from the coastal area of Senegal and Gambia.  
       
12.   Dasypeltis latericia (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) range is from Senegal, Gambia, Burkina Faso, the southern parts of Mali and Niger and the northern parts of Guinea, Ghana, Togo, Benin and Nigeria.  
       
13.   Dasypeltis parascabra (Trape, S., O. Mediannikov & J.F. Trape, 2012) is a new species from West-Africa. Dasypeltis parascabra occurs in Guinea, the Ivory Coast and Sierra Leone.  
       
14.   Dasypeltis loveridgei (Mertens, R. 1954) lives in southern Namibia and the northwest of South-Africa.  
       
15.   The Indian egg eater, Elachistodon westermanni (Reinhardt, 1863), is only known from nine localities. Its range extends from central to north India and from there, east to Nepal and the northwest of Bangladesh. This snake is dark brown with a white line running down in the middle of the back. The underside is off-white with some brown spots on the anterior sides. Its size is about 62 cm (males).

Einleitung | Verbreitung und Vorstellung | Beschreibung | Mimikri | Fressakt
Haltung | Nachzucht | Schlußwort
 

Verbreitung und Vorstellung der einzelnen Arten:

1.

1. Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Dasypeltis scabra (Linnaeus, 1758) erstreckt sich über große Teile Süd- Zentral- und Ost-Afrikas und einen kleinen Teil der südlichen Arabischen Halbinsel (Jemen). Die einzigen Ausnahmen sind die drei großen Wüsten, im Norden die Sahara, im Süden die Kalahari und im Südwesten die Namib, sowie Gebirgslagen oberhalb von 1500 – 2000 m. Dasypeltis scabra besiedelt somit Gebiete, in denen eimige der anderen Arten ebenfalls (sympatrisch) vorkommen. Sie kommt nicht mehr in West-Afrika vor! (Stand 2014)

   
für eine größere Version auf die Karte klicken
   
2.   Dasypeltis atra (Sternfeld, 1912) ist eine montane Art, die aber nicht nur die Gebirge in Äthopien, Uganda, Ruanda und Burundi, sondern auch die Tieflandregionen besiedelt. Dort hat sie allerdings wieder eine vollkommen andere Färbung. Die montane Form ist meistens schwarz, wohingegen die Tieflandform einfarbig rot und auch olivgrün mit Zeichnung sein kann.
   
3.   Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Dasypeltis m. medici (Bianconi, 1859) überschneidet sich im Norden mit dem von D. m. lamuensis. Es erstreckt sich vom südlichen Kenia über Tansania bis ins nördliche Südafrika. Diese ostafrikanische Dasypeltis ist auch die einzige, die eine Unterart hervorgebracht hat.
     
4.   Dasypeltis m. lamuensis (Gans, 1957) kommt in Kenia und Tansania vor. Von ihr gibt es einfarbig graue und rötliche Tiere.  
       
5.   Dasypeltis inornata (Smith, 1849) kommt nur in der Republik Südafrika vor (endemische Art). Sie ist einfarbig rotbraun bis dunkelbraun.  
       
6.   Dasypeltis palmarum (Leach, 1818) besiedelt den Südwesten Afrikas, und ihr Verbreitungsgebiet umfasst das nördliche Angola bis Gabun.  
       
7.   Dasypeltis fasciata (Smith, 1849) hat von allen Eierschlangen das zweitgrößte Verbreitungsgebiet. Es umfasst das ganze zentrale Afrika und reicht auf der westlichen Seite vom Ghana bis Gabun und auf der östlichen Seite bis in das westliche Uganda.  
       
8.   Dasypeltis abyssina (Duméril, Bibron & Duméril, 1854) kommt in Äthiopien vor.  
       
9.   Dasypeltis confusa (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) besiedelt die Gebiete des südlichen Senegal (Casamance) bis in den Kongo und nach Süden bis Angola, bevorzugt werden die Savanne und trockene Wälder. Im Kongo kommt sie auch am Rande des Regenwaldes vor.  
       
10.   Dasypeltis sahelensis (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) kommt in Marokko und der Sahelzone vor. Senegal, Gambia, Burkina Faso, dem südlichen Teil von Mali und Niger.  
       
11.   Dasypeltis gansi (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) ist nur an der Küste von Senegal und Gambia bekannt.  
       
12.   Dasypeltis latericia (Trape, J.-F. & Y. Mané, 2006) kommt in Senegal, Gambia, Burkina Faso, dem südlichen Mali und südlichen Niger, den nördlichen Gebieten von Togo, Guinea, Benin und Nigeria vor.  
       
13.   Dasypeltis parascabra (Trape, S., O. Mediannikov & J.F. Trape, 2012) ist eine neue Art aus West-Afrika, sie kommt in Guinea, der Elfenbeinküsteund in Sierra Leone vor.  
       
14.   Dasypeltis loveridgei (Mertens, R. 1954) kommt nur im Nordwesten von Südafrika und dem südlichen Namibia vor.  
       
15.   Für die indische Eierschlange, Elachistodon westermanni (Reinhardt, 1863), gibt es nur neun Fundorte. Ihre Verbreitung erstreckt sich von Zentralindien bis Nordindien und von dort nach Osten bis Nepal und in das nordwestliche Bangladesch. Die Färbung ist ein dunkles Braun mit einer weißen Linie entlang der Rückenmitte. Die Unterseite ist eierschalenweiß und im vorderen Teil mit einigen braunen Punkten an den Seiten gezeichnet. Größe um die 62 cm (Männchen). Es wurden in letzter Zeit (2006/7) auch lebende Tiere gefunden.